New Album: Everyday Robots.

A new studio album by Damon Albarn – his first solo record – titled Everyday Robots will be released by Parlophone on 28th April 2014.

Recorded last year at Albarn’s West London studio 13, Everyday Robots is produced by Richard Russell of XL, with whom Damon produced Bobby Womack’s ‘The Bravest Man In The Universe’- and features guest appearances from Brian Eno and Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes).

Led by title track ‘Everyday Robots’, the 12 songs here invite the listener into Albarn’s world for a genuine ‘one-to-one’ and are the most soul-searching and autobiographical since his musical journey began: a career that started with Blur and spans Gorillaz, The Good, The Bad & The Queen, Mali Music, Monkey: Journey To The West, Dr Dee and Africa Express.

The songs’ subject matter is more directly personal than before and is inspired by Albarn’s experiences from early childhood to now, including the trappings of our modern existence, computer games, mobile phones and nature versus technology.

The lead, title track ‘Everyday Robots’ is accompanied by a video directed by artist and designer Aitor Throup. The film is a digital portrait of Albarn by Throup and uses CGI software and actual cranial scans and facial reconstruction techniques to explore and reveal the process of building a uniquely personal portrait of an artist and individual.

Throup also creatively directed the visual concepts for the single and album artwork, as well as shooting Albarn for the album cover image.

Damon Albarn will headline at Latitude Festival on Saturday 19th July 2014 with a band including guitarist Seye, drummer Pauli The PSM, bassist Jeff Wootton and Mike Smith on keyboards.

Everyday Robots will be available as a digital download, CD and 12” vinyl.

The full tracklisting is:

1) Everyday Robots
2) Hostiles
3) Lonely Press Play
4) Mr Tembo
5) Parakeet
6) The Selfish Giant
7) You And Me
8) Hollow Ponds
9) Seven High
10) Photographs (You Are Taking Now)
11) The History Of A Cheating Heart
12) Heavy Seas Of Love

Previous articleNew Band of the Day – Elastic Sleep
Next articlePeter Hook is planning a ’12 foot high’ statue of Tony Wilson to straddle Manchester Salford border


  1. I implore all discerning music listeners and culture aficionados to avoid this truly egregious individual’s woeful output, and to select instead Sleaford Mods, with ‘Shelf life’, a track on their delightful ‘The Originator’ CD Album : ‘ ‘I’m currently wearing a Trilby hat, on a slant, Sat behind a Chas and Dave style Piano singing The Lambeth Walk with the Bass Player out of the Clash – Well Trendy, you’ve smashed it mate’ and so forth…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here