Daedelus Announces New Album “The Light Brigade” Released Through Brainfeeder – Listen To “Onward” Now…Photo of Daedelus above © Valeria Cherchi

It’s just been announced that one of our favourite, pioneering, electronic artists, the Brainfeeder affiliated Daedelus, is to release a new album in September. It’ll be titled The Light Brigade and you can listen to the first track off it via the link below, where you’ll also find artwork and track list.

In Greek mythology Daedalus was the father of Icarus. He was also a skillful craftsman and artist. In US electronic mythology Daedelus is the father of sonic labyrinths combining sounds from an eclectic palette into an innovative genre all his own. This Daedelus is also, of course, a skillful craftsman and artist.

Daedelus first set our world’s alight back in 2012 when I described his show in Bristol at The Thekla as my second best gig of the year. To this day it’s still one of the most memorable hours of my life and I’ve been hanging on every announcement from Brainfeeder and Ninja Tune ever since in case it heralds the return of the man to my home city. Needless to say, Daedelus has continued to dazzle us, and the world, with his bewildering, dazzling and infectious music making skillz ever since, so to say we’re excited about his new album is an understatement.

From the press release:

With The Light Brigade, Daedelus returns to Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder, a fitting home for the Los Angeles electronic pioneer. A successor to his 2009 Righteous Fists of Harmony (an EP inspired by the Boxer Rebellion), The Light Brigade recalls the Crimean war of 1853-56. The music was written and recorded before the recent troubles broke out in that region, a turn of events which lends an air of requiem to the album.

The Light Brigade is a musical interplay of light and dark, soft and heavy, beautiful and frightening. The ghosts of war reverberate into the present in this deeply moving meditation on mortality.

Pre-Order Links: Ninjashop and iTunes.

Stream Onward, the third track off the album, on Soundcloud.


Track list:

  • 1 Until Artillery
  • 2 Baba Yaga
  • 3 Onward
  • 4 The Victory of the Echo Over the Voice
  • 5 Sevastopol
  • 6 Tsars and Hussars
  • 7 Battery Smoke
  • 8 Belonging
  • 9 Pre-munitions
  • 10 Shot and Shell
  • 11 Country of Conquest

Cover Art:

Daedelus Announces New Album “The Light Brigade” Released Through Brainfeeder – Listen To “Onward” Now…

Previous articleInterview: Deap Vally
Next articleNorthside To Headline A “Superbill” In November which’ll Feat. An 808 State DJ Set and Support From Modern Minds & The Assist
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here