Cretin 77: Cretin City Terminal – album review

Cretin 77 ‘Cretin City Terminal’ (Self Released)
Available now

With the Rebellion Festival now only a weeks off it seemed somewhat timely that the debut album from Corby based Cretin 77 landed on the doormat; and like the festival itself ‘Cretin City Terminal’ certainly offers up more than the anticipated three chord nihilistic punk rush; the album is rammed full of variations in style – granted we ain’t talking polar opposites, but there are enough subtle nuances to interest anyone who’s own favoured music could be lumped together as punk.

Cretin 77; the name being both a reverential nod to The Ramones and a chronological indicator to the band’s sound, though as I have previously suggested to expect just ‘gabba gabba, hey’ is to do Cretin 77 an injustice.

Album opener ‘Generation Kill’ sets the tone instantly; a twisted Biafra style vocal winds its way around a gas guzzling 50’s rock n’ roll rhythm, whilst ‘1977’ couldn’t be anything but an adrenalized head rush that instantly references those heady days at the Roxy and does so in less than 90 seconds – sweet!

‘Johnny’ has a Dolls, sleazy lower East Side feel; before stand-out track ‘Charred Heart’ jolts you from the US and returns you to early Theatre Of Hate – its dark, brooding, and simmers with suitably tribal drumming; any comparison to Kirk Brandon and his legendary vocal is not something to throw out there randomly; however Cretin 77 vocalist Joe possess a distinct and powerful voice and one that delivers huge range right across this album…’War(No More)’ initially another spikey punk rush breaks down into a Ruts style breakdown, whilst both ‘Since Day One’ and ‘Satellite Smile’ mark return to prime era Dead Kennedys, ‘Satellite Smile’ is so close to ‘California Über Alles’ that it could almost have been a Kennedys track from the same recording session – closer ‘Cretin Kids’ will no doubt become the bands overtly raucous clarion call, self-mythologizing lyrics delivered on the back of a huge 50’s stomper, slap bass and neat guitar riffs a plenty

With ‘Cretin City Terminal’ Cretin 77 have crafted an album that clearly links with the past, but still manages to sound entirely contemporary, and is certainly worthy of further investigation – the band have self-released the album, its currently on offer for just £6 inc P&P, at that price its got to be worthy of a punt surely?

Track List:

1. Generation Kill
2. 1977
3. Johnny
4. Charred Heart
5. Sleep In Your Car
6. War (No More)
7. Since Day One
8. Force Fed
9. Satellite Smile
10. Cretin Kids

Cretin 77 live dates:

30th August – Bladefest, Micks Farm, Leicestershire (Goldblade, Dirt Box Disco, The Vibrators & more)
28th September – Norwich; Supporting Two Sick Monkeys
5th October – The Zombie Hut, Corby; Supporting Peter & The Test Tube babies
25th October – The Horseshoe, Wellingborough; Steve Ignorant’s A Slice Of Life ft. Captain Hot Knives
12th December – The Hairy Dog; supporting U.K Subs

Previous articleNew artist of the day: Islam Chipsy – stunning Egyptian keyboard player and techno wizard playing electro Shaabi
Next articleAn open letter to Lord Howell about the fracking in the NE controversy
Phil Newall is 47, from The Wirral - he earns his living not writing about music nor playing music...though sorely wishes he could. He was fortunate enough to see many of the first generation punk bands when they played the U18's matinee shows at Eric's, Liverpool. As an attendee at Eric's he was exposed to punk rock, dub reggae, art rock, and all manner of weirdness; as a customer at Probe Records he was variously served and scowled at by Pete Wylie and Pete Burns - he has written for Record Collector, Whisperin & Hollerin, and Spiral Scratch and wanted to write a book detailing the Liverpool punk scene; however with 'Head-On' Julian Cope beat him to it...and frankly did a much better job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here