Courteeners announce new album ‘Concrete Love’

Courteeners release their fourth album Concrete Love on August 18th through [PIAS] Cooperative.

Written and recorded in part in Montmartre by Courteeners talismanic singer/songwriter Liam Fray last autumn, Concrete Love is the band’s most rounded and satisfying record to date – its release coincides perfectly with a moment when they reach the peak of their live powers. The album sees the band working again with regular collaborator/producer Joe Cross (Hurts/Chloe Howl).

In the six years since they released their sharp and underrated debut St Jude – a pinpoint accurate portrayal of young life– the band have risen steadily with a quiet confidence. Each of their albums has gone Top 10 – St. Jude (no.4), Falcon (no.6), ANNA (no.6) – and the growth in their live shows has been exponential and astonishing. In 2013, Courteeners quickly sold over 100,000 gig tickets outside of festival appearances in the UK – including Brixton Academy and Manchester Arena. In August, the band play as special guests of the Killers at Bellahouston Park in Glasgow before headlining the NME stage at Reading and Leeds Festivals. They then tour the UK extensively in the autumn.

Concrete Love is available for pre-order now via all usual outlets. I-tunes pre-orders will immediately receive the exclusive album track Summer – as perfect a piece of sunshine pop as you’re likely to hear this season. Deluxe editions of the album come with either a DVD (physical copies) or download (i-tunes) recorded at the band’s momentous Castlefield Bowl gigs in July 2013, where, over two nights the band played to sold-out crowds of 16,000 people. The first single from the album will be released next month.

CONCRETE LOVE tracklisting:

1. White Horses
2. How Good It Was
3. Small Bones
4. Has He Told You That He Loves You Yet
5. Black & Blue
6. International
7. Next Time You Call
8. Summer
9. Saboteur
10. Dreamers
11. Beautiful Head

LIVE AT THE CASTLEFIELD BOWL tracklisting (on DVD with Deluxe CD/download with digital):

1. Are You In Love With A Notion?
2. Lose Control
3. Cavorting
4. Acrylic
5. Van Der Graaff
6. Please Don’t
7. Bide Your Time
8. Scratch Your Name Upon My Lips
9. That Kiss
10. When You Want Something You Can’t Have
11. Take Over The World
12. You Overdid It Doll
13. The Opener
14. Welcome To The Rave
15. Sycophant
16. Marquee
17. Smiths Disco
18. The Rest Of the Word Has Gone Home
19. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
20. Fallowfield Hillbilly
21. Here Come The Young Men
22. Not Nineteen Forever
23. What Took You So Long?

Previous article‘Goodbye Terry Butcher blood stained headband’ – 5 things English football must do to move on
Next articleMexican Jazz-Rock Combo Troker Return To The UK


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here