Cabaret Voltaire announce ‘#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)’ compilation…Cabaret Voltaire release a new compilation #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985) via Mute on the 23rd June 2014.

#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985) compiles two distinct periods of Cabaret Voltaire; 1978-81 and 1983-85 – for the first time together on one release and follows the re-mastered vinyl release of ‘Red Mecca’ and already legendary and sold out box set, ‘#8385 (Collected Works 1983 – 1985)’.

Featuring classic tracks such as ‘Nag Nag Nag’, ‘Do The Mussolini (Headkick)’, ‘Sensoria’, ‘Landslide’, ‘I Want You’ and ‘Just Fascination’, #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985) was curated by Richard H Kirk who explains:

I decided to gather the more concise elements of the work… Hence the choice of 7” singles, edits and shorter album tracks, a kind of sound bite take on CV.”

The compilation travels from 1978-81 with a line up of Richard H Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson, when Cabaret Voltaire were (mostly) recording at the Western Works Studios in Sheffield and releasing records on Rough Trade and from 1983-85 after Watson’s departure when Kirk and Mallinder released via the Some Bizzare label on Virgin Records. Kirk points out that this:

“…was a time where we got to do what we do, but in different areas, we wanted to push the boundaries of electronic music, we wanted to place what we were doing into places where it really shouldn’t be. We certainly didn’t want to carry on repeating what we’d done for the ten years previous.”

Cabaret Voltaire formed in 1973 and, alongside Human League, Throbbing Gristle, Fad Gadget and The Normal, were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement of the late ’70s. Way ahead of their time, Cabaret Voltaire’s blend of dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental made them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts of the last 40 years.

The release features sleeve notes from Cabaret Voltaire’s Richard H Kirk and Mute founder Daniel Miller and is available as on CD, Double vinyl and digital download on 23 June 2014.

Richard H Kirk is co-founder and now sole member of Cabaret Voltaire and is still recording at Western Works studios in Sheffield.

Live performances and new recorded projects are planned for 2015.

  • #7885 (Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978 – 1985) Track listing
  • Do The Mussolini (Headkick)
  • The Set UP
  • Nag Nag Nag
  • On Every Other Street
  • Silent Command
  • Kneel To The Boss
  • Seconds Too Late
  • Landslide
  • Breathe Deep
  • Just Fascination (7” Version)
  • Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)
  • The Dream Ticket (7” Version)
  • Sensoria (7” Version)
  • James Brown (7” Version)
  • Kino (7” Version)
  • Big Funk (7” Version)
  • I Want You (7” Version)
  • Warm
Previous articleWatch This! Brilliant 80s UK Hardcore Documentary feat Napalm Death, Stupids, Heresy, ENT etc
Next articleThe New Line: Can’t Hold The Wheel – album review
Phil Newall is 47, from The Wirral - he earns his living not writing about music nor playing music...though sorely wishes he could. He was fortunate enough to see many of the first generation punk bands when they played the U18's matinee shows at Eric's, Liverpool. As an attendee at Eric's he was exposed to punk rock, dub reggae, art rock, and all manner of weirdness; as a customer at Probe Records he was variously served and scowled at by Pete Wylie and Pete Burns - he has written for Record Collector, Whisperin & Hollerin, and Spiral Scratch and wanted to write a book detailing the Liverpool punk scene; however with 'Head-On' Julian Cope beat him to it...and frankly did a much better job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here