British reggae band Pama International, whose former members have included members of The Specials and Pop Will Eat Itself launch a PledgeMusic campaign for their first new album in 7 years.

The first Pama International album in seven years sees the band revamped with a brand new line-up built around original member, keyboardist and songwriter Sean Flowerdew. The British reggae band who used to feature Lynval Golding from The Specials until the 2 Tone giants reformed, now have two lead singers: Jewels Vass (who’s previously worked with the Mad Professor and Zion Train) and Anna Uhuru (from East Park Reggae Collective). On drums is former Wailing Souls, Lee Perry and Horace Andy drummer, Bullit, and from Pama International’s original days, Gary Alesbrook (Kasabian) is on trumpet, and co-producer Lenny Bignell in on guitar.

The band’s brand new single is a reggae rework of the Martha Reeves & Vandellas classic, Heatwave.

Their new album will be a collection of 8 singles, all released on vinyl. If you’re new to PledgeMusic, it’s a crowdfunding site whereby you pre-order an item, be it one of the 8 x 7” singles, the LP version, the collectors’ box-set of all the singles or a CD option. With over 2 months left to reach their target, they are already 75% of the way there, and as soon as they do the money will be released by Pledge, then the various formats will be pressed and so the orders will be sent out. All items are available on the link below.

All words by Arash Torabi. More writing by Arash can be found at his Louder Than War author’s archive.

Previous articleInterview: Chuck Billy – Testament
Next articleMark Ayling: Big City Dreams/Small Town Failings – album review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here