Mercury Music Prize logo 2016

Mercury Music Prize logo 2016

In a vote hosted by the station 6 Music listeners have voted Gomez’ Bring It On their favourite past Mercury Music Prize Winner.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the prize with the 2016 winner due to be announced at the ceremony today (15 October 2016).

Making up the Top Five in the poll, 6 Music listeners voted Dummy by Portishead (1995) their second favourite Mercury Prize winning record, third was Pulp’s Different Class (1996), fourth Screamadelica by Primal Scream (1992) and fifth was Arctic Monkeys’ Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’(2006).

Gomez won the prize with Bring It On in 1998 – a year in which Massive Attack, The Verve, Pulp and Catatonia were also shortlisted.

In the running for the 2016 prize are:

  • Hopelessness by Anohni
  • The Bride by Bat for Lashes
  • Blackstar by David Bowie
  • Making Time by Jamie Woon
  • Made In The Manor by Kano
  • The Dreaming Room by Laura Mvula
  • Love & Hate by Michael Kiwanuka
  • A Moon Shaped Pool by Radiohead
  • Adore Life by Savages
  • Konnichiwa by Skepta
  • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It by The 1975
  • Channel The Spirits by The Comet Is Coming.
Previous articlePremiere: The Lovely Eggs new single Drug Braggin
Next articleCrossfaith: Interview and live review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here